~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Need To Go Sugarfree?

As a diabetic, I need to avoid sugar; and as you may guess, these chocolate recipes have sugar in them… OR need to be modified in some way as it avoid the bitterness that is unsweetened chocolate. As someone who has been on diets, on and off my whole life, I have learned a few tricks of the trade. Well, maybe not a whole lot of tricks, but enough to satisfy MY cravings for chocolate.

Through the years, I’ve used a variety of sources to add sweetness to things from the obvious artificial sweeteners to the not so obvious sources like fruit, and most recently, sugarfree coffeemate. The key thing here is to remember to be creative. Just try your idea out and see if it works. If it does, great; but if it doesn’t, no big deal. I just bought the sugarfree coffeemate, flavored vanilla caramel which really fits into today’s recipe. This morning, I used 100% cacao unsweetened chocolate and the new flavored coffeemate. It turned out great, I got the flavor for this weeks recipe, WITHOUT the sugar and extra fat, as I used water instead of half-and-half.

I am always on the look out that the supermarket for other ways of sweetening my HC and one thing I intend on getting, but have not seen it, looked in the right place, or asked someone for sugarfree syrups. I know they are there, just never used them before. I am guessing that there is a whole new world of flavor out there for me to experience.

~A piece of chocolate a day keeps the doldrums away!

Wednesday, April 4, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Chocolate, Diabetes, Recipes

1 Comment »

  1. Please let me know how to make this sugarfree! I am confused as to whether you added coffeemate instead of the half and half. What was the water about?
    Thanks.

    Chicks Love Chocolate

    Hi Chicks Love Chocolate! Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see if I can clarify what I did so that you can make this sugarfree.

    The recipe called for half-and-half, so I wrote that down for people who want the full works. For myself, I use the powdered, flavored, sugarfree coffeemate to sweeten the Hot chocolate; and today, it was the Vanilla Caramel… YUM. Since discovering that people outside the United States do not use milk, but use water, I have started doing that in order to make my drink with less fat and carbs. I use 1/4 tsp. of arrowroot, per cup, to thicken it up and make it creamy… just as if I used regular heavy cream, without the calories. Oh, if you want more caffeine, you can use fresh brewed coffee instead of just plain water…. OR you can use at least a tsp. of instant coffee with the water.

    Hope that helps. I am going to post your question in another blog entry so that if anyone else needed clarification, they will have the answer, too. Thanks for asking! If you have any more questions, please feel free to write again.

    Comment by Chicks Love Chocolate | Wednesday, April 4, 2007 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

