~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Where I’m At

Just a quick note, I have been trying to gather internet information and focus on knitting those toe up socks.  Socks was my original “justification” for spending money on knitting in the first place; and I still have as yet to knit, and complete, a pair.

I first heard about toe up socks on Brenda Dayne’s podcast, Cast On, and I was obsessed from then on to find out how to make them.  BTW Brenda, LOVE your new look!  I am also obsessed with making 2 socks on 1 circular needle… so as you can see, learning tons of stuff at one time.  Oh, and I used the Figure 8 cast on… wow, really tons of new stuff; but that is how I like it and that is how I want it to be, to always be learning something new.

I have a normal foot, but it’s grown to a 9 1/2 (or so), and my left foot is permanently swollen a bit from previous injuries; so I have a terrible time finding socks that fit both my feet, let alone fit well.  Making toe up socks will allow me to make the foot first, then worry about the leg and if it’s a little short, so what.  Because I am just learning, I really want to make two at once so whatever I do for the first, I can immediately do for the second.  I am also the type who gets bored rather quickly and I don’t want to end up making one sock then letting the other one remain unmade.  I do not have a pic as of yet because, 1- I only have a few rounds done, and 2- the batteries on my camera still need to be recharged… IF it can be found.

Another thing that I sort of figured out while learning M1L and M1R is that I realized  the mistake that I made while making a shawl that didn’t turn out very well… or rather it seems to be a mistake in the pattern.  I am attempting to make a triangle shawl out of the LB trellis yarn, using the pattern off the label.  The label states to increase front and back of every row.  Well, you can imagine it was very elongated and not shaped well.  It was very long horizontally, but had no shape, no volume on the back.

I went over the instructions over and over just to see if I was missing something, and certainly, I will get in touch with Lion Brand first; but I believe that I really should have alternated between increasing and then knitting a complete row before increasing again.  What do you think?  Please, if you have any ideas or any advice, WRITE ME, either comment or send me a private email.  I would really appreciate it because this shawl is long over due for a friend of mine.

Okay, gotta run and see with the boy is getting into.  Shhhhh, it’s vewy vewy quiet out there.  I’m hunting BOY!

Wednesday, May 2, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Knitting

2 Comments »

  1. The Blue Stocking pattern (free!) is a very good toe-up sock beginning with a provisional cast-on, as well as a short row heel that is unusually sturdy and nice looking. Great tutorial on the provisional cast-on. You may not want to do the actual Blue Stocking until you’ve completed a pair or two of standard socks, though, as it has a lot going on at once. It’s at http://www.tsocktsarina.com/

    The book “Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles” is another fine resource.

    Astrid

    Comment by astrbear | Wednesday, May 2, 2007 ~ | Reply

  2. Astrid… Thanks so much for the comment and info. I’ve set my comments to moderate TWO links, but not just one… don’t understand that but I guess better safe. I can’t tell you how much spam comes here. Glad I was able to approve your comment the same day.

    I will definitely check out that link and I DO have that book, “Socks Soar on Two Circular Needles”, just that I’ve lost it here somewhere. I can see it in my mind, but can’t place it grrrrr hate that! I did manage to cast on using that book, but I got, terribly confused when I got to the heel and put everything down. Then when I did a pair on a KK loom, I got the idea of how that works, but never went back to the started socks… they were just too wrong, too small, not the right size needles, not right yarn… too, just not right.

    Now, I got my mojo up and saw this yarn, got it even though not my preferred colors, got the right size needles and just plunged right in and committed with a purchase. To my delight, I am finding this quite easy as I gain experience doing other things….. Loving it!

    Comment by dragonmommie | Wednesday, May 2, 2007 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

