~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Self Striping Socks

DSC02384

These are my socks. Like them? My neighbor told me they look like cups for a bra! I suppose they could, indeed, be mistaken for that, but I assure you, I am trying to make socks “this” time. I took this picture in the car. It’s a prime “clutch” example of the great things that can happen when you leave the house prepared to knit wherever you land. The baby was not interested in napping this Sunday so I suggested to my DH that we just get out of the house because it was such a great day. We decided to go to “Scoops” for some ice cream. Well, right before we got there, our little darling was out cold in the back seat. SO, we continued on to the book store, one of our favorite hang outs, and DH went inside to soak up the local color and I remained outside while baby slept…. and knit my socks. So, so clutch!

Anyway, I mentioned that these socks were not coming out the way I planned. They are coming out too big for my feet. It seems that I am using US #4 needles and not #3’s. On top of that, I added some stitches before settling into knitting full rounds. Well, I went back and forth over whether I should frog these babies or not, and have decided to keep going. My MIL has permanently very swollen feet and ankles, so these will go to her. I just can’t bear to rip them out. This will be okay. I know I have enough yarn to make them this size, so no reason not to push on. This Sunday, Mother’s Day, we will be seeing her; and though they will not be done, she will be able to try them on so I can better judge the heel. I’ll probably have to add even more stitches to the heel, but it will be a creative learning event.

I am really loving how the stripes are just appearing and I can’t wait to get myself to a LYS (Local Yarn Store) in order to indulge in some niiiice sock yarn. I’ll have to see if I can find some of the smaller sizes in circular needles, as well. My immediate problem is that I have the Knit Picks Options circular needles. I really love these needles, but could not afford to get the complete set and just got 4 pairs of various sizes, trying to give myself a good range within my means. I really did do a pretty good job, but back then I was not knitting socks and didn’t see the need of going smaller than a US #4. Sigh. Oh well, my birthday is coming up in a couple of months, so maybe I can convince DH to let me order more needles, cables, and more yarn!

Tuesday, May 8, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Knitting

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

