~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

My Own Beaded Stitch Markers!

DSC02437

Whooo Hoo! Here are my stitch markers. I am so proud of them that I can bust! I want to thank David Reidy at the Sticks and String podcast for demonstrating how easy they are to make. I didn’t make mine the same way as his because I found these 20mm toggle clasps…. but also because I am not fluent in “binary”. I used the ring part for my markers. There is nothing there to catch on yarn, except for maybe any shoddiness in my own work. For my first try, I think I did pretty good. As you can see, these are sitting on US 11 needles with room to spare. The 11’s are the largest ones I have right now. If you look close, you can see that on one of them I cut off too much wire and had to remove one of the beads on top… no biggie… but I KNOW!

I used Regal Beading Guild’s Peridot Flower Lampwork Glass Beads, #62866. The size is not noted on the package, sorry. I don’t know the name of the wire piece, but it had a little doo-dad at the bottom to stop the bead and was a little decorative. The company is called “Bead It”, but I would not recommend it because quite a few pieces in the package were not properly made and as a result, the whole linear effect is off. I could have made more, but because the other wire pieces were so crappy, I had to stop. Well, I got my .99 cents worth. The other beads are just misc. glass beads. Finding the 20mm toggle clasp part was really a lucky break for me as I had no idea what I was looking at. I used a 50% off coupon at A.C. Moore for my beading tools, a set of 3 pliers, pretty basic, but just enough for what I needed. A $12.00 set of three cost me 6 bucks… a really great deal considering I saw tools that ran at least $12-14 for a single tool.

Ah, I am so relieved now. I basically got started on this because I want to start my very first summer top and the pattern says I need stitch markers. My mouth is watering for me to make a real garment for myself. I mean, the scarves, mittens, and even the poncho is real enough, but a S-w-e-a-t-e-r ! Now, that would really be an accomplishment. I’ll let you guys know is going on with that, but I’ve got to get going because I still need to fix some rows on the poncho. I find that I am missing some crochet stitches at the end of my rows. I looked at it and there is a definite decrease going on there…. I have no idea why. Do I need to make two crochets in the last stitch of each row? That is what it’s looking like to me, so I’ve got to go back and fix it all.

Wednesday, May 23, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Crafts, Crochet, Knitting

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

