~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Grace’s Shawl Materializes

Trellis Triangle Shawl 1

This is the world’s first glimpse of my Trellis Triangle Shawl. What do you think, Grace? Sorry I let it go for awhile but DH is on vacation this week and we’ve been on the go all week.

This shawl is worked from the bottom up, starting with only three chains, increasing as you go on both sides at once. The problem I had with the first one (that I ripped out) was that, either there was an error in the pattern, or I knitted it too loosely (though it was specifically indicated in the pattern to knit loosely). This time, I am doing knit rows between the increased rows. I am knitting with my fingers crossed and trying to monitor the shape of it, as in the photo above; however I will never transfer it to waste yarn again as it was frustrating getting the stitches back onto the needles.

Okay, update on the crocheted baby blanket. I learned that my brother’s wife is having a girl and that the theme for the baby’s room will be frogs. I promptly downloaded a few frog patterns for hats, booties, sweater, toy and cloth. What I’ve decided to do is make a center panel for the blanket with the frog pattern for the cloth. Frog Cloth pic I will omit the border and actually will be learning how to double knit so that I can work two colors and have two “right” sides. It will be heavier to match the heaviness of the other crocheted squares. The background will be pink and the frog will be the same green I am using throughout the blanket, and I will crochet the same green border as the squares have; but I’ll need to see the size of the finished square. Funny how I insisted using this non-baby green because I just “liked” it… and because my sister-in-law, Erin, is Irish and I wanted to tap into that. I will also be knitting this with my fingers crossed because I do not know what the dimensions of the cloth should be and I need to make sure that this panel will fit in seamlessly with the squares that I already made. Even if it’s double the size, or whatever, just so that the squares will line up. I will have to improvise as I go along, but I really think it will be great.

I love learning new things for each project I am working on and I am really delighted that I will have a need for the double knitting. Hey, it wasn’t too long ago (I mean weeks) that I had no idea what “DK” meant!

Wednesday, June 6, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Knitting

4 Comments »

  1. Oh, it’s turning out BEAUTIFULLY, DM!! 🙂 This is so much fun to watch it’s progress and it looks terrific! AND I LOVE LOVE LOVE the color the baby blanket…TOO CUTE! Frogs are so much fun!! LOL

    Are your fingers cramped and bleeding from all the knitting???

    Comment by Grace | Wednesday, June 6, 2007 ~ | Reply

  2. As an Irish Canadian, i’ve got to say green is always perfect. Love the froggie.

    Comment by elanknits | Thursday, June 7, 2007 ~ | Reply

  3. Hi Grace…
    Glad you like it! The picture doesn’t do the colors justice, but when outside in the sun, they are so shimmery. Nope, my fingers are not bleeding yet… though I had better get started on some of the baby shower projects as that is coming up in August! DKT or Debbie Knitting Time says that it will take me a lot longer than normal knitters to get these done as I’ve not made any of these items outside of dishcloths and the blanket is more than half done.

    Comment by dragonmommie | Thursday, June 7, 2007 ~ | Reply

  4. Hi Ellen, thanks so much for stopping by!

    I love this green. It’s “Sage” from Caron’s Simply Soft. Somehow, though not a baby green, compliments the other colors I am using for the blanket: Soft Pink, Peach, Orchid, Soft Blue, Baby Brights Ombre. I could not find yellow at my store, so I went with Bernat’s Satin “Banana”. However, I am a little disappointed that the Baby Brights Ombre has a different texture and thickness than the rest, though the label says that it’s Simply Soft. It’s rougher. I am trying not to use as much by making the centers with it, smaller.

    As a side note, I had lined up all the squares in a near perfect layout, then gathered them up, by row, and in order. A few days later, my son got a hold of them and mixed them up again; but I think the individual rows are in tact as I connected them with a twist tie, so the job ahead of me will not be totally from scratch.

    Comment by dragonmommie | Thursday, June 7, 2007 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

