~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Christmas Knitting….

Is another reason why I’ve not been able to get back here. Good Grief!

I am struggling through a clapotis scarf for a friend. I’m making it with Wool of the Andes, Blue Bonnet yarn. I really love the color. The problem is that I’m running out of steam. I am bored to tears! A cloche made with matching yarn was in the works, but has stopped because I wanted to finish the clap first, to make sure that I had enough wool. Now, I’m going to have to finish the hat, regardless, because that clap is not getting done before Christmas. So, at least I’ll have the hat.

Harry Potter ScarfNext thing I’m working on, and have only just started this week, is a Hogwarts scarf for our nephew. I feel horrible because this is not the scarf I wanted to knit TWO years ago! I wanted to design a logo that shows the logo for his hockey team. I’ve not learned how to do colorwork yet, so I had to compromise and do “something”. The problem is that I am sure that his brother would like this scarf better than him, and I definitely do not have the time to knit two scarves. As you can see, I am knitting it in the round and so, will take a mite longer than a normal knit scarf. They live in NH so, it’s the least I can do… LOL… Anyway, my goal is to knit at least one stripe a day, and it should be good to go before xmas, right?

DressIn the midst of all this, I have been crocheting some sweater dresses for Hugs4Hope, a group dedicated to supplying hospitals with items for newborn preemies and full term babies.  I love this pattern and can almost make a whole dress without looking at the pattern… so cool.  As a matter of fact, the jacket from the green outfit for my new niece, is a modification of this same pattern… I just didn’t make the skirt part.

Oh, another gift I am making, and is almost finished, is a cute kid’s vest I am making for Isabella, the little girl I babysit sometimes.  She lives right upstairs and I just had to make something.  This happens to be my first foray into following a pattern for an actual garment.  I will have to update this post to post a pic as I do not have an up-to-date one  that illustrates the garment… wow, did I say g-a-r-m-e-n-t ?

There is a whole slew of things I want to start.  Being on Ravelry is not helping matters.  I love that place.  In case I have not posted it already, my name there is DebbieKos.  Recently, I’ve become a volunteer editor and, most recently, a co-moderator of a group there.  Should be fun.  I do also have my own group that is geared towards identifying those oddball yarns, called, what else but “Mystery Yarn”.  I thought a group like that would be needed in a fiber community.  I am amazed at how resourceful and creative one sometimes must be in order to just find out what kind of yarn one has.

Last Thanksgiving we had some of both families here, at our house.  I thought it might be fun to give out favors… or something to thank everyone for coming.  After a long story, I decided to crochet dishcloths, and this is the Diamond Dishcloth.  Great pattern and very easy to make.  I made eight of them and arranged them in a small yellow basket so that they resembled flowers, and had that on the table all night.   I wish I had stopped to take a picture!  Alas, no.  Maybe when I get more made for myself, I’ll do that again, but it still would not be the same, know what I mean?  As a matter of fact, I took NO pictures that day… nada.  What the heck is wrong with me?  Just a busy, busy gal, I guess… with brains of jello.  I’ve decided that I need to make at least one of each color I made for Thanksgiving.  So bad, as this was meant to be a DE-stashing exercise.

Debbie’s Booga Bag

I guess you guys never saw THIS… my beautiful Booga Bag!  Made with Araucania Nature Wool Chunky.  I do not believe the colors are named, just numbers.  Too bad.  I would put a link to the pattern, but not sure if I can.  The pattern states:   This pattern is for personal use only. It may not be copied and distributed in any way and bags cannot be made from this pattern and then sold.  So, I’ll just tell you that I got it from “Black Sheep Bags dot com“.  I actually made that “thing” that is hanging off the bag.  It’s supposed to be some sort of clasp to hold the flap down.  Just something I flubbed…. buuut… I still love my bag!  I will NEVER, EVER give this one away!  I’m in love!

Until next time, KNIT ON!

Tuesday, December 4, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Knitting | , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. The baby dress is precious. You do good work.

    Comment by Frogalot | Sunday, December 23, 2007 ~ | Reply

  2. Thanks so much!

    Comment by dragonmommie | Sunday, December 23, 2007 ~ | Reply

  3. you wonderful person, you have helped me make some NY resolutions

    Comment by Barbara | Tuesday, January 1, 2008 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

