~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Jo Ann Fabrics Refuses Restroom Access?

As a preface, I’d like to say that I frequent Jo Ann’s and have never had a problem gaining access to the store’s bathroom, here in NJ. One thing I’ll say is that they have one of the filthiest facilities that I’ve ever been to…. but at least they let me use them.

Edited December 22, 2007:  I just want to clarif y that the story below is not my own experience.   I found the article below on Digg.com and posted it here.

I was shopping in the Jo-Ann Fabrics store in Logansport, Indiana. While shopping I suddenly experienced unexpected and intense diarrhea. I approached an employee and asked her if I could use the rest room. She said she was not allowed to let me use it…”

It gets worse…much worse

read more | digg story

Monday, December 10, 2007 ~ - Posted by | Knitting | ,

4 Comments »

  1. I was in JoAnn’s in Scranton PA and was told I could not use the bathroom. The manager told me that the decision was not joanns but some agency came in and shut them down because the are not equipped for the disabled. I’m disabled and find that this joann’s is more than big enough for a wheelchair but does not have the required hand rails. Whether this is true or not I don’t know
    Sorry about your experience
    Michele

    Comment by Michele Sammartino | Saturday, December 22, 2007 ~ | Reply

  2. Hi Michele…
    I am sorry to see that this post is misleading and implies that this was “my” experience. It was not. This was someone else… I live in NJ. I will edit my post immediately to make that more clear. Thanks for your comment and I, too, am sorry for YOUR experience. The bathroom in the Joanns in my area is very small, and is really just a little wash room, probably not meant for customers at all, and was filthy. I was just grateful that I was allowed to relieve myself.

    Comment by dragonmommie | Saturday, December 22, 2007 ~ | Reply

  3. This seems to be JoAnns policy for all their stores. The store here in Berlin, VT has the same policy. You either have to go to Penney’s at one end of the mall or to Wal Mart at the other end from JoAnns or try to get to the one mall restroom. Sorry to say JoAnns has not impressed me for years. They are rude, discourteous and slovenly.

    Comment by Beverly | Friday, January 18, 2008 ~ | Reply

  4. You know, I’ve never had a problem gaining access to JoAnn’s bathroom, myself, but it’s obvious that it’s not for customers because it’s very small and dirty… forget about diaper changing facilities! Something interesting is that my JoAnn’s is not in a mall, with other rest rooms (relatively) close by.

    Comment by dragonmommie | Friday, January 18, 2008 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

