~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Clap for the Clapotis

Yep, I’ve completed my first clapotis, or “the clap” for short. Ha… when I first saw that I had to take a second look. Duh…… RIGHT…. “clap”…. RIGHT…. clapotis. What can I say, but that I’m 47 years old and thankfully did not get that right away. This is a link to my Ravelry project page for those of you who are on Ravelry. Please note that if you’re not on ravelry, you probably won’t be able to access that page, so here is a posted pic:

Clap spread out on the bed

Clap spread out on the bed

Well, i did try to knit this last year but there was an issue with the yarn I was using. I wasn’t sure if there would be enough of it; so I thought I’d cut it down to scarf size. I had heard of a lot of people doing it in less than full size, so I thought I give it a try. Forget about the fact that I had not a clue as to go about doing this. Forget about the fact that you just can’t stop increasing with you feel like it. Weeeell, that just what I did, and I went on like that for several dropped stitches.

This was knit with almost two skeins of Caron’s One Pounder in Jet Stream colorway. She is knit on size US 8 needles. There is a small amount left over and I’m going to see if I can make either wrist warmers or a head band… something like that.

She was really a lot of fun to make- once I got the pattern down… though you still really need to keep track of what row you are on because when row six comes up, you get to prepare for the drop down in row eight. I lived for those rows! My one suggestion would be to use a yarn that is silky and slippery. The kind that will fall right down when you want it to. Otherwise you will be fighting with the fibers to get it to drop all the way down. How I did it was to let the stitches drop down several rows, then I knit the rest of the row. Only when that row was done did I go back and make that stitch drop all the way down. So much fun. It doesn’t take much for me to have a good time, and my DH will tell you that I’m a cheap date…. free even. This Caron was giving me a hard time with the stitches dropping, so I had to really tug and pull to get it to go all the way down. But then, I can imagine that if you had some nice bamboo or silk yarn, that your pleasure would not be as prolonged as with my One Pounder. You could say it’d be a premature climax…. over almost before it started.

Oh, almost forgot to mention something I didn’t realize until I actually got up to that part in the pattern. In the Decrease Rows you need to drop two stitches, not just one! Wow. I was floored and ecstatic. You might have known that automatically if you realize that it’s knit on the bias. But I still would not have known this because I am mathematically challenged… severely challenged. This section was the most interesting for me… to watch the corner emerge, then realize that stitches were being dropped so that they meet in the middle with the very last one, which is also the last corner to be formed. After all the patterns that I’ve done, knitted and crocheted, this one was the most amazing to watch the form come into view. Silly, I know.

Close up of Clapotis Pattern

Did I say that I absolutely love these colors? I really LOVE these colors~! Ah… I got a lot of satisfaction and sense of accomplishment making this baby. I used the cheaper yarn because I intended on this one to be a trial run because of my failed attempt. This time around, I had two things going for me. One was that I was not on a deadline; and two, I made the full pattern without trying to skimp. Now that I’m done, part of me wants to make that other, more elegant version; but part of me can’t stand the thought of casting on another one… well, not just yet, anyway. I guess my aversion hesitation will give me plenty of time to get the money required for the amount of yarn I’ll need. OR I’ll have plenty of time to refine my spinning skills to make enough yarn for one… OR I’ll just keep dreaming about it.

Thursday, July 31, 2008 ~ - Posted by | Knitting | , ,

2 Comments »

  1. the “clap” looks as pretty as it did here as when you showed it to us at Barnes and Noble!!
    The close-up really shows it off!!

    Great Job!

    -cj

    Comment by CJ | Saturday, August 9, 2008 ~ | Reply

  2. Hey Cindy… thanks for stopping by.

    I love it, still, but it’s now in storage for next winter. Hope to see you soon.

    Comment by dragonmommie | Sunday, August 10, 2008 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

