~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

It Was Fun While it Lasted

Cowl Jump Medal

Yep, the hoopla is all over. We now switch you back to your regularly scheduled program. As of August 24th, 2008~ 11:59 pm, the Ravelympics is no more for another four years. Sigh… I’ll miss it. I must confess that I didn’t think that I’d have so much fun. I mean, of course I had fun working on my projects; but the folks at the Rav really made it so much fun the participants. What was a great, really, really great idea was that they created an “Almost” thread in the Ravelympics 2008 group, so that all the folks that could not finish, could still experience the thrill of posting their pics of their uncompleted projects and I just thought that was SO COOL! Admit it. You get a rush from posting pics of your projects, don’t you? DON’T YOU? I know I do, and I’m proud of it. LOL… even if it means posting my flab in those pics.

Sweet Stuff Sweater

Of course, I’m thinking of my Sweet Stuff Sweater. It’s not completed here, but it came out pretty decent. I’ll never forget my excitement of creating an actual garment for myself, size 3X… or I’ll just say “Debbie Size-It”. I have learned so much since I joined Ravelry. It’s recognition and popularity in the fiber community is phenomenal…. unbelievable. I am so hoping to meet Jess and Casey sometime, but for now, it’s a pipe dream because I hardly ever get to go anywhere and a couple of times I got close, but no cigar.

Play Ball!

Play Ball!

Oh man! Almost forgot! A Stitch and Pitch is coming up in September at Shea Stadium in Queens. Mets vs. Chicago Cubs. Here is a link to the Stitch and Pitch Fan Newsletter, Summer 2008. (LINK UPDATED 9/16/08) A couple of friends are going. It looks as if it’s likely that I’ll have to sit by myself, but I don’t care, if I can actually get there. We’ll have the commute there and back as time for commiserating. The one thing I’m not looking forward to is the size of the seats there…. circa 1964. You can bet that they did not plan for the size of my butt! Especially since if they made the seats bigger, they’d have fewer seats in the whole stadium. What does that mean? Less $$$ for the owners’ pockets. You know, those million dollar salaries must be paid with the sweat and blood of my tush! Once I wedge myself in, I’m stuck there for the duration… oh well, but I’ll BE there. I really can’t wait to get there. The Drake is cool with me going and we planned that he will pick up the little guy from school to give me extra time to get there in time. The Drake is so cool, don’t you think? Check out some Shea Stadium Wiki.

Hey, check out what the mailman brought me today:

DSC03860So totally cool and I’m wearing this outfit right now. The pin in the middle is the Official Ravelympics pin with the year “2008”, with Bobicus Maximus. The other two pins are Bob’s head (mortal Bob) and the Ravelry ball of yarn logo. Oh yeah, those are MY boobs. Like em? LOL… That’s as raunchy as I’m likely to get…. but even though I’m an old coot, it’s still in the blood. Yep, the very same blood that is leaking out all over the seat at Shea. See what I mean? Wasted lusty blood.

Okay, I really need to put in some filler in here so I can get to the next picture. I hope you don’t mind if I start rambling for a the space it will take. Oh shit, I have nothing to say so I’ll just move forward with my thoughts. As of this moment, I am writing off line without any way to check my last posts, but what I want to do here is show you my Ravelympics projects and a couple of patterns that I’m looking into.

First up, is my “RH Sweet Sweater (turned Cardi)” that I entered for the Sweater Sprint I’m pretty sure that I showed that, but I’ll try to get a pic with me actually wearing it, as long as I look good in it, of course! I didn’t write too much about this one because I’m pretty sure that I posted already and will provide the link.

Next I had entered, I think, three projects for the Cowl Jump. Herringbone Neck warmer I used Moda Dea’s Tweedle Dee. The problem was that the herringbone stitch required was way too tight and the yarn got lost in it, and it lost it’s softness… so I gave up on it and was out of the race almost before it started.

Another project that I attempted was my “Fuzzy Red Cowl”, made with Caron Bliss in Ruby Red. I wish I had a pic of it, but that will have to wait until I finish it. I still have that on the needles as a matter of fact. I am so looking forward to this being finished. The yarn is so, so fuzzy and soft… AND it’s my favorite color… (giggle) or one of them, RED.

Cuddily goodness

Cuddily goodness

Then I found that I had two very complimentary yarns, and I just HAD to do something with them together. Feathers, in Peacock and Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, in Blue Bonnet. These two blues would be virtually indistinguishable, if not for Feathers having more colors in it and all that feathery stuff. So, I got out my size US-15 circs and got to work. I wanted to make it fast, so I just made a rectangle, using a plain, and loose stockinette stitch. Of course it curled at the ends, so I decided to crochet a scalloped border with just the Knit Picks yarn. Worked out perfect… except that it took two balls of the Feathers and there is a REAL difference in the amount of feathers between the two which produced a really feathery side and the other side scarcely has any feathers at all, even after I brushed the surface to pull out some from the fabric and other side of the fabric. Hey, do I get extra credit for modeling this warm and cuddly thing around my neck in August hot, humid weather? See the gleam of oil running down my face!

Well, I forgot to make button holes in this thing, but I realized that after I completely finished the object, so I decided to just use a pin. Things never work out as we want them to, no matter HOW much we strive for it. Yeah, I’m a knitter alright. I’m the kind of knitter that forgets to make button holes. I could not even make loops on the edge for the buttons because the neck warmer came out too wide with the crocheted edge. How’s that for planning! My solution was a good one, though. I will need to fold it in half to wrap around my neck, then use a shawl pin, that I’ll make out of polymer clay for the clasp. Should be a piece of cake and I get a really nice idea today for making an outline of a shape, then either make the pin out of the same stuff, or just use a hair stick. I think I’ll need to make the pin because my hair sticks are simply too long and too thick for this project.

So right now, I’m in my local Starbucks waiting for my gals to get here. Sorry, no guys, though we would welcome them should they show up! Nothing like co-ed humor lighting up the table! Another great thing that came from Ravelry for me. For two years I was searching for a local group of people to get together with at least on a weekly or even monthly basis. I was so desperate! When on Ravelry, I found the Jersey Represent Group and a thread started for Union County Knitters and our real-time weekly group sprang up from there because, as you know, us knitters love to get together with you in the flesh. To be honest, I’m not really into virtual knitting circles or chat groups. I’d rather get together in person and see and FEEL the projects I read about on Ravelry.

Going to sign off for now… I want to clear out this table and make way for implements of knitting and crochet.

Tuesday, August 26, 2008 ~ Posted by | Crafts, Crochet, Knitting, ravelry | 2 Comments