~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Never Run With Needles

Coffee… check.  Keys… check.  Project bag… double check.

Back pack….  Back pack….?  BACK PACK?….

This is NOT good…. The other morning I was running around the house looking for my sons’ back pack.  Upon remembering that it was on top of my bed, I swung my body around and flew towards the bed.  Ouch!  I bumped my leg up against the foot board.  That smarts… Wellllll my friends, it was a little bit more than that.  I felt a little (just a little) weight on my thigh and realized that my canvas project bag was stuck to it.

Needle puncture in my leg.

Needle puncture in my leg.

Yep, that’s right… STUCK to my leg.  Surrealistically, I pulled it out and realized that I had just stuck punctured myself with the knitting needles, sized US 9, that were in my bag.  Yep, there is a hole in the bag, but not big enough to show in a picture and not very big, either… which sort of tells me that it didn’t go in too far.  At the time, I didn’t have a chance to even look at it.  I thought that if the blood wasn’t gushing out, it was okay (not so)… apparently, the fat on my leg plugged the hole up for just enough time to get my son off to school… wow, I’m Super Mommie! As soon as I got home, I rushed into the bathroom and took a peek.  Looked okay and there was some blood.  I poured some hydrogen peroxide over it and nothing happened.  No white bubbles… I guess that was a good sign.  Must have shown that my knitting needles didn’t have any germs on them.  I threw a band-aid on there and was good to go for the rest of the day.  My last tetanus shot was a few years ago, so I knew I didn’t need to get that.

Wow.  The whole idea of having that happen.  I really can’t even remember the details of that moment.  I am thinking it only went in about half an inch.  I figure that was deep enough for me to feel the resistance when I pulled it out, yet not deep enough to penetrate down to the muscle, though, I did feel sore for a couple of days, and still just enough to know that it happened.  You know, just a couple of minutes before this happened, I was thinking that I “could” put those needle tips on those very same needles as I had an extra idle pair laying around.  I didn’t want to go an look for them because I was in such a rush… and I had never made it a practice to use them before, but had gotten them in a swap.  A few weeks ago, I cracked open the bag and used the other set… which is probably why I didn’t get stuck more than once!  Ah, what lesson can we learn from this?

mental

I’ve got to apologize to my readers for not posting more often, but things are more busy now than before Gabe went off to school.  I’ll never be able to commit to writing on a more regular schedule… well, unless somebody decides to pay me for it… ha..ha.. One thing that has been keeping me busy is the distribution of the motherload, from-the-mother-land, of yarn from my MIL’s house.  She has recently moved down to Florida, and we’ve been cleaning out her house.  DH found a literal truckload of yarn in the attic… and is STILL finding it here and there.  I was totally surprised because my MIL never talked about her stash, though knowing that I had one and that I’m an avid knitter and crocheter… and all out crafter.  I was totally shocked that she had so much of it.  I knew that she did do some crochet work back in the day… around the 70’s, but I also knew that she was not currently working with yarn.  Well, let me tell you… or better yet, let me show you:

Was I right? Was I right? eh… eh?

Moving along.  Here are a couple of updates on projects that I’ve completed… Well, the most recent are the three (four) shawls I’ve done for some home bound parishioners.  All patterns were free and a pleasure to work and very easy.  One is a simple lace pattern that I was very happy to find.  Also, almost forgot the first one I made, the Angel Wings Shawl by Julee Reeves…

Angel Wings Shawl, LB Easy Crocheted Triangle Shawl, LB Easy Knitted Triangle Shawl, LB Lace Triangle Shawl

Angel?  Bat?  Works for me.

Angel? Bat? Works for me.

Love this pattern.  Next time I want to make it larger; which is very easy to do. Just keep going.  This is on my Ravelry projects page as are all my projects.  Ravelry?  Check out article in Vogue Knitting, Fall 2008.

Please note that the Easy Crocheted shawl and the Easy Knitted Shawl patterns on the Lion Brand site are both the same pattern, one crocheted and the other knitted.  Sorry, no pics on these yet.

Tuesday, December 2, 2008 ~ - Posted by | Crochet, Knitting, Patterns, ravelry | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. ouch!!!!!!

    Comment by redfear | Tuesday, December 2, 2008 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

