~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

The Phoenix Seraphina

She rises from the ashes of the agony of defeat from the treacherous Flirty Fluttery Cardigan.

What better title for a blog which hasn’t had a new post since December 2008?   This post is also about Ravelypmics 2o10, an event on Ravelry, taking place right now, will finish this coming Sunday night.  For those of you who have not heard of Ravelry.com it’s a community of, what I shall call, “Fiber People”.  These are those who are infatuated with all things fiber.  We are knitters, crocheters, spinners, dyers, weavers, anything that anyone can do with fiber, fiber people.  Yet, we are Ravelry.  Resistance is futile.

The Phoenix Seraphina is the result of a disastrous attempt to make the Flutter Cardigan from Creative Knittting, March 2010 magazine.  (Sorry, if you’re not on ravelry, you won’t be able to see that link.)  There was a discrepancy with the weight of the yarn.  The magazine said it was a worsted weight yarn and the two substitutions for yarn listed are worsted also… AND discontinued.  I wrote a note to the editor on the pattern on ravelry, but have not heard from them, nor do I see my note on the pattern.. OR where they would have made a correction.  Still, with Wool of the Andes yarn (light worsted) and a US I hook, I got the gauge required.

I had entered this cardi into the Ravelympics this year.  I took a guess at the yarn, measured my chest, even met gauge, but still the ruffle was horribly MUCH too long.  Don’t know what happened.  It can’t be that I was off on my foundation row by 200+ stitches!  I even put stitch markers every 50 stitches on the foundation SC row…. I did not start with a chain, rather started with a SC foundation.  I persevered for the full ruffle, to be tragically defeated when I realized that it wrapped around my stomach much too much.  What to do?  I had to let it go…. for now.

In steps Seraphina! For non-ravelry people, you can find the pattern here.  I love this pattern.  I think this is the fourth one I made, so I’m pretty comfortable with the pattern, though, written out it’s pretty wordy.  There’s a streamlined, corrected version over on Crochetville if you’re interested.  Again, you probably need to be a member of Crochetville to access it.  Anyway, I had a FO that did not come out right and I was intending on frogging anyway, so I entered that into the Aerial Unwind event.  Then I used that yarn, Jojoland Rhythm, to make The Phoenix Seraphina, which I had planned to make for a charity auction at my son’s preschool this coming May 2010.  I must say that I’m in love with the Pheonix…. AND that I have enough of the same yarn to make another one, which I certainly will, either for myself or to put up for sale in my Etsy shop.

RAVELYMPICS 2010

UPDATE:  2/28/2010: The Phoenix Seraphina Just received her GOLD MEDAL (see badge under picture) ….. the crowd goes wild!

These are my entries and medals won for my events…. minus the Flutter Cardi and socks which I had entered in the WIP’s Dancing event, but have since misplaced them, so another fiasco there.  Please note that The Phoenix Seraphina has not been officially declared a winner which is why she is not here.  Once that happens, I’ll display her medal.  Whew…. so glad I got this posted!

DUM DA DUM DA DUM DUM DUM… DUM…. DUM DUM DA DUM DUM DUM DUM DA DUM DUM DUM!

Spiderman Afghan (WIP’s Dancing)

Ed’s BIG Seamen’s Hat (Hat Half-Pipe)

Frogged “My Clapochet” (Aerial Unwind Event)

Saturday, February 27, 2010 ~ - Posted by | Crafts, Crochet, Knitting, Patterns, ravelry | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

