~DragonKnits~

But she’ll share…..sometimes.

Wedding Nightsongs

A good friend of mine is getting married December of 2011.  Being a knitter, the first thing I thought about was, “OH.  I can make her a shawl or something.”  Well, she picked out Gail (aka Nightsongs), a beautiful, yet free pattern that she happened to pick out.  Though I love lace, I do have a hard time connecting to knitting charts which most lace knitting patterns are written as.  As luck would have it somebody actually created something called an “UNchart” which is sort of a part written and part charted pattern.  It was love at first sight!

So, the yarn that Paula pick out is Sterling Silk and Silver by Kraemer Yarns in Tuxedo colorway (black).  63% Superwash Merino, 20% Silk, 15% Nylon, 2% Silver ~3.5 oz./ 100 Grams, approximately 420 Yards.  This stuff is lovely.   Real sterling silver threads run all through this stuff.  Recently, Kraemer’s was forced to give up getting real silver threading because it’s getting harder and harder to get, so now they have some other fake material substituting for the silver…. SO, I am making this shawl, with one of the last skeins available with the sterling silver inside.  Nice gift, eh!

I had completed the majority of the shawl when it got really hot this summer.  Of course, I totally abandoned the project knowing I had plenty of time.  About a week ago, I picked it back up and as of tonight, I’m up to the last 19 knitted rows for the edging.  My eyes were giving me some problems at about 11pm, so I stopped for tonight and will resume tomorrow… I can’t wait to get this thing done, but I’m loving it and watching the leaves develop and I’m really looking forward to blocking this baby using my relatively new blocking wires.  This will be the first project I’m using them for and excited…. Well, as excited as you can get, considering.

Yeah, I was pretty boring tonight, but I did want to document this shawl in some way and have been meaning to do it…. PLUS this will be the first post on my knitting blog in a LONG time, so it really was begging to be done.

Now for something really important.  I have a wedding to go to at the end of March 2012 and I’m considering asking Paula if I could borrow her shawl… hee hee.  We’ll see…. I have no idea what I’m wearing for that yet, but I do know that I don’t have any elegant piece like this to speak of in my wardrobe.  After completing this one, I’ve got some serious Christmas knitting to start, so I can’t even whip out another shawl right now.

If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. ~1 Corinthians 13:2

Oh well, searching for this quote has pushed me past 12 midnight and so I’ve lost the post a day challenge.  That’s okay, though, because I have love.

Saturday, October 8, 2011 ~ - Posted by | Crafts, Gift Knitting, Knitting | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] I have finished my girlfriend’s wedding shawl (original post here), THE wedding shawl, it’s totally too BIG.  Ugh.  I had an awesome time working on it and […]

    Pingback by Beautiful Disaster « DragonMommie's World | Monday, November 21, 2011 ~ | Reply

  2. […] I have finished my girlfriend’s wedding shawl ((original post here)), THE wedding shawl, it’s totally too BIG.  Ugh.  I had an awesome time working on it and […]

    Pingback by Beautiful Disaster « ~DragonKnits~ | Monday, November 21, 2011 ~ | Reply


Leave a Reply

